The Interested Nurses Political Action Committee (INPAC) of the New Jersey State Nurses Association  (NJSNA) is a nonpartisan political action committee.

INPAC, the political arm of NJSNA, is not a lobbying organization. Instead, it aims to influence healthcare policy discourse by endorsing and contributing to candidates who support the nursing profession and quality healthcare. Elected officials directly affect nursing practice and the healthcare system. Nurses must stand together and support candidates who advocate for nurses and quality healthcare and politics have a great impact on nursing. Therefore, nursing should have a meaningful impact on politics.

New Jersey Legislature is made up of two houses the State Senate and Assembly.

The Assembly is the lower house and has two elected representatives from each of the 40 districts. The Senate is the upper house of government with one elected representative from each of the 40 districts.

The INPAC committee makes recommendations to the NJSNA Board of Directors for endorsement. The Board of Directors then votes on these recommendations and a majority vote is required for endorsement of a candidate.

Candidates receiving endorsement have supported issues important to nurses and the practice of nursing, including removal of joint compact to ensure access to care for all New Jersey residents, entering the multi-state compact and nurse title protection.

Below is the 2017 slate of endorsements for Assembly and Senate.

New Jersey State Assembly endorsements (bold indicates election winner):

John Burzichelli (D-3)

Paul Moriarty (D-4)

Pamela R Lampitt (D-6)

Ronald Dancer (R-12)

Daniel Benson (D-14)

Wayne D’Angelo (D-14)

Christopher “Kip” Bateman (R-16)

Andrew Zwicker (D-16)

Nancy J. Pinkin (D-18)

Craig Coughlin (D-19)

Nancy F. Munoz (R-21)

Jerry Green (D-22)

James Kennedy (D-22)

Erik Peterson (R-23)

BettyLou DeCroce (R-26)

Mila M. Jasey (D-27)

John F. McKeon (D-27)

Angela V. McKnight (D-31)

Angelica M. Jimenez (D-32)

Raj Mukherji (D-33)

Thomas Giblin (D-34)

Shavonda E. Sumter (D-35)

Benjie E. Wimberly (D-35)

Marlene Caride (D-36)

Gordon M. Johnson (D-37)

Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-37)

Tim Eustace (D-38)

Joseph A. Lagana (D-38)

Holly Schepisi (R-39)

New Jersey State Senate endorsements (bold indicates election winner):

Stephen Sweeney (D-3)

Fred H. Madden Jr. (D-4)

Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D-5)

James Beach (D-6)

Troy Singleton (D-7)

Dawn Marie Addiego (D-8)

Jennifer Beck (R-11)

Shirley K. Turner (D-15)

Patrick J. Diegnan Jr. (D-18)

Joseph F. Vitale (D-19)

Thomas H. Kean Jr. (R-21)

Steven V. Oroho (R-24)

Ronald L. Rice (D-28)

Robert W. Singer (D-30)

Sandra B. Cunningham (D-31)

Nellie Pou (D-35)

Loretta Weinberg (D-37)

Robert M. Gordon (D-38)

Gerald Cardinale (D-39)


24/7 Crisis Hotline for Impaired Nurses - 1-800-662-0108